My latest new start

Ok, I’ll admit it… I am a serial starter and an occasional finisher. When it comes to all things craft related, I get started on a project then either another interesting one comes along or my head gets so full of ideas for my own projects that I find myself starting something else. I do finish a lot of what I start but sometimes I decide the yarn could be better used on something else or I just get bored with the design I chose to work.

This latest project, like most of my recent ones, has a lot of interesting things going on. The pattern is called “Heart of Friendship”. It’s a pattern by the very talented Helen Shrimpton and you can find the blog posts and links to purchase the pattern at https://crystalsandcrochet.com/

I’ve chosen different colours for my version:

I’m still working on the central square of the design and am loving the way it’s looking. The pattern was gifted to me by my son a couple of weeks ago because, having recently completed the latest CAL of Helen’s, I was waxing lyrical about her designs. Heart of Friendship particularly caught my eye because it’s loaded with hearts and Helen has, very cleverly, worked a row of people holding hands into the outer border rows of the design. It quickly became a must have… and then a must make. I can also thank my son and his girlfriend for allowing me to buy the yarn to start this gorgeous project.

I chose Stylecraft Special DK yarn and purchased from Deramores online. I’ll try to find the links to add later. In the meantime I’m going to add a few more stitches to this piece before the light fades. Autumn is upon us and the daylight hours are shrinking. More to follow on this as it progresses.

Leave a comment